LO8 – Attack of the Lockups!!! Nova Joe & Mean Dean Big Winners, Jackson Resets Record

Nova Joe Albrecht First Time RVW LO8 Winner

Photo Courtesy Dragzine.com

“Nova Joe” Albrecht proved he’s a natural behind the wheel of Eddie Whelan’s Radial Vs. The World Screw Blown GTO at Lights Out 8 last weekend. Nova Joe’s GTO tuned by the famous Jon Salemi may not have been the #1 pick to win, but the Team proved they had what it takes by both being consistently fast and going rounds without drama. And yes, it’s got a Neal Chance Lockup in it!

Joe solidly defeated Mark “Woody” Woodruff in the final 3.837@202 to Woody’s 4.005@196.42 – it would have been a much closer race but Woody dropped a valve the previous pass and had to make some very fast repairs.

Congratulations and great job to Nova Joe, Eddie Whelen, John Salemi and the rest of the Team on your YUGEEEEE $50,000 win!!!

Steve Jackson New RVW Record Holder, Mitchell is RIGHT there too

Photo Courtesy Dragzine.com

We also have to give a shout out to Steve Jackson and Barry Mitchell who BOTH reset the RVW Record at LO8. Mitchell laid down a 3.738, a new record before Jackson in Shadow 2.0 edged him out with a 3.737 just a few passes later with a crazy .978 60′!!. GREAT Job to both these Teams on outstanding performances, this is going to be a great season in RVW, we’re sure the record will fall yet again SOON.

Mean Dean Marinis LO8 X275 Winner

Photo Courtesy Dragzine.com

“Mean Dean” Marinis just switched over to Neal Chance Lockup with a new close ratio Proformance Racing Transmissions 3 speed 400 before this race, and man oh man did the back splits pick up! In fact, Marinis’s Nitrous Big Block set the TOP MPH at LO8 with a 165.36, something typically reserved for Turbo cars only! Dean also dipped into the 4.30’s at the race with a new personal best of 4.39.

Marinis defeated hard charging Kenny Hubbard in the final with a very solid 4.404@162.06 to Hubbard’s 4.421@159.46 to take the win! We can’t wait to see what he can do with some more laps on this new combo!

Congratulations Dean, Elvis and Dennis on your BIG WIN!!!